Views
Helpful
Replies

Quality of Service (QoS) for multicast equipment in UDP

cadumep12
Level 1
Level 1

Hello experts, good morning!
I would like some assistance or ideas for a scenario I'm facing. I'm new to dealing with networks, especially CISCO. Here's the lab setup I have:
I have a Cisco switch (WS-C3560X-48) to be used with TV equipment, which will communicate via Multicast. A VLAN was configured in access mode on the ports and communication was validated, but with some freezing issues. To fix this, the idea of configuring QoS, IGMP-Carrier, and IGMP Snooping was suggested. Once I adjust the IP targeting via the modulator (connected equipment), it's advisable to link the SWITCH PORT, mapping the MODULATOR by Mbits and IPs, setting up filters per port on the SWITCH, for example: MODULATOR 1 - IPs XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX - 20 Mbits flow connected to port 1 of CISCO SWITCH, remembering the QoS application for UDP, which by default is in TCP, focusing on filtering by MODULATOR with attention to the IPs configured on them and also the transport MEGABITS that will be connected to the SWITCH ports to prevent the total flow from overwhelming all SWITCH ports.
Example: port 2 - 192.168.2.11 - Modulator 2 will communicate with port 5 - 192.168.2.12 - GATEWAY LAND 1.
Has anyone seen a similar scenario or have an idea of how to perform these configurations?

4 Replies 4

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

I confess I'm a bit confused by your posting, but can say QoS can be used to insure your multicast video obtains the network resources it needs.

For non-realtime video you need to guarantee it somewhat more (perhaps +10%) than its average bandwidth usage and try to preclude any drops.  You might accomplish the forgoing using a dedicated egress queue.  (How it's specifically done depends on device and/or IOS version.)