cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Question about dynamic ARP inspection

pelican
Level 1
Level 1

Hey, I am currently studying for CCNA and I could not get my head around why DAI would need to inspect the destination MAC address to mitigate ARP attacks since the destination MAC address should always be the victim. Any help in understanding a scenario where an attack could take place by modifying the destination MAC would be greatly appreciated.

5 Replies 5

Understanding the scenario where an attack could take place by modifying the destination MAC address requires some context about Address Resolution Protocol (ARP) attacks and the purpose of Dynamic ARP Inspection (DAI).

In an ARP attack, the attacker sends falsified ARP messages on the local network, associating their own MAC address with the IP address of another device (typically the default gateway or another important network device). This type of attack is known as ARP spoofing or ARP poisoning.

Dynamic ARP Inspection (DAI) is a security feature implemented on some network devices, including Cisco switches, to mitigate ARP attacks. DAI inspects ARP packets on the network and verifies the validity of the ARP messages before updating the ARP cache on the switch.

Now, let's consider a scenario where the attacker modifies the destination MAC address in an ARP attack:

1. Attacker's MAC address: AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA
  2. Victim's MAC address: BB:BB:BB:BB:BB:BB
  3. Gateway's MAC address: CC:CC:CC:CC:CC:CC

Here's a step-by-step breakdown:

1. The attacker sends falsified ARP messages to the network, claiming that their MAC address (AA:AA:AA:AA:AA:AA) is associated with the IP address of the default gateway (e.g., 192.168.1.1). The destination MAC address in these ARP messages is set to the MAC address of the victim device (BB:BB:BB:BB:BB:BB).