cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Questions about Multicast when L2 and L3 are mixed.

CATYO
Level 1
Level 1

Hello there. 

I am very very new to multicast. 

I've got some questions and need your helps. 
I draw the topology and questions are in the picture. 

Please help me out and correct me if I was missing something.  

Thank you in advance : 0

19 Replies 19

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Multicast within same vlan no need for PIM. Although you need something make the IGMP queries and most switches can do this with the "igmp snooping querier .." command.

Multicast between vlans you need to enable PIM on each SVI you want to route multicast for.

Clients use IGMP to request a multicast stream.

Jon

Disclaimer

The Author of this posting offers the information contained within this posting without consideration and with the reader's understanding that there's no implied or expressed suitability or fitness for any purpose. Information provided is for informational purposes only and should not be construed as rendering professional advice of any kind. Usage of this posting's information is solely at reader's own risk.

Liability Disclaimer

In no event shall Author be liable for any damages whatsoever (including, without limitation, damages for loss of use, data or profit) arising out of the use or inability to use the posting's information even if Author has been advised of the possibility of such damage.

Posting

"Although you need something make the IGMP queries and most switches can do this with the "igmp snooping querier .." command."