cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Router rip

Blackinc
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to Cisco and I have an issue with my rip configuration. I did rip configuration on router giving the network 10.0.0.0  I erased the memory and reloaded the router for some reason. Now when I configured the rip network giving 10.254.10.0 it still showing the old network id 10.0.0.0 in the router rip when I check using show run command. I tried changing the network several times but nothing worked  How to fix this?

8 Replies 8

M02@rt37
VIP
VIP

Hello @Blackinc,

RIP is indeed a classful routing protocol, which means it doesn't support subnet masks in its routing updates. It relies on classful network boundaries, such as Class A, B, or C networks. This could explain the behavior you're seeing.

If you initially configured RIP with a network statement like 'network 10.0.0.0'  it implies that you want to advertise all Class A networks (10.0.0.0 to 10.255.255.255). When you later try to configure a more specific network like 10.254.10.0, RIP might still treat it as part of the broader Class A network because of its classful nature.

Best regards
.ı|ı.ı|ı. If This Helps, Please Rate .ı|ı.ı|ı.

Is there a way to fix the problem? I am a complete beginner. can you mention the steps to fix it?

@Blackinc 

Jump to RIP version 2.

Although RIP v2 is classless,  configuration of which interfaces are attached to the RIP process is classfull...

You always see 10.0.0.0 in your show run but the mask should be carried through advertisements update. Means that in the other side network 10.254.10.0/24 is annonced via RIP.

Best regards
.ı|ı.ı|ı. If This Helps, Please Rate .ı|ı.ı|ı.

Martin L
VIP
VIP