Views
Helpful
Replies

SPAN & RSPAN & Port Security

salemmahara
Level 3
Level 3

Hello everyone

I'm studying for 300-115 . Here are some questions. Could you help me to answer them please?

1-Which two limitations of LOCAL SPAN are true ? (Choose Two)
A. The source and destination ports must reside in the same switch or switch stack
B. It can monitor only traffic that ingresses or egresses on the source interface or VLAN
C. A SPAN session can support multiple destination ports only if they are on the same VLAN.
D. EACH SPAN session supports only one source VLAN or interface.
E. A switch can support only one local SPAN session at a time.

I think AC

2-Which two restrictions of the port security feature are true? (Choose two.)
A. Static port MAC address assignments are not supported.
B. It is not supported on PVLAN ports.
C. It is not supported on EtherChannel port-channel interfaces.
D. A single device can learn a maximum of three sticky MAC addresses.
E. It is supported on destination SPAN ports.

I don't know, all options look wrong :)

9 Replies 9

Mark Malone
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni
a and b is first question , can only have 1 destination port
c is right its not support on pos , it does support pvlans and you can statically assign macs , its not supported on destination ports , maybe D after process of removal

Characteristics of Local SPAN

Destination Ports Each local SPAN session must have at least one destination port (also called a monitoring port) that receives a copy of traffic from the source ports or VLANs.

So C looks Okey in question 1 ( At least means it can have one or more )

Then: ( https://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/td/docs/switches/lan/catalyst6500/ios/15-1SY/config_guide/sup2T/15_1_sy_swcg_2T/port_security.pdf )

Look at Page 2 pleas. Port Security supports access and trunk etherchannel interfaces .

. A SPAN session can support multiple destination ports only if they are on the same VLAN.