Views
Helpful
Replies

Spanning tree help, using firewall software switch for connections

PHarrisonCWSI
Level 1
Level 1

Hi guys,

I'm new to a lot of these concepts so maybe I'm missing something obvious, but some input would be really appreciated!

Basically I'm setting up a Fortigate firewall HA pair (active/passive) and four 2960S switches in our datacentre.  There will be one Fortigate firewall and two switches per cabinet, with the cabinets linked by a ethernet connections.  The idea being that in say cabinet A a host could have two NICs with one connected to each switch, so if a switch fails in a cabinet it's no problem, and if a firewall fails in either cabinet it's no problem.

I have it all in-place and it's working fine but I have a bit of a concern with how spanning-tree has set the links.  I had envisaged lots of connections between all the switches and traffic could take the shortest route, but of course this routing not switching which became obvious when I started looking into STP .

I've attached a diagram of how STP has enabled/disabled links.  The Fortigate is configured with a four port software switch that the links from the four 2960s connect to.  The problem in the attached diagram is that if servers on different switches want to talk to each other the traffic will be sent down the link to the Fortigate then back down another link to the relevant switch.  It seems like a waste to take this route when there are (currently blocked) links between the switches themselves.  The main thing I'm concerned about is the load it's going to put on the Fortgate if it has to software-switch all possible traffic in the network.  Now of course the good thing here is if a switch fails STP should bring up another link to the Fortigate, and in reality most of the traffic on the network will be from servers to the Fortigate (not too much inter-server traffic) but that could change.