Views
Helpful
Replies

Switched network design questions

Warren Sullivan
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Guys,

I am designing a revamp of our LAN environment, it is currently all HP, but i'm replacing everything with Cisco! YAY!

Whilst i am a CCNP, none of this is on the tests ;-)

I'm very new to larger Switched networks so i have a few questions on products. Cost is, as always a factor.

Please see below diagram

network.png

I'm looking at Cat 4500-X switches in the core due to fact that i need a lot of 10G interfaces for future expansion, the plan is to go 10G to the floor pods in time. I also want to run VSS in the core too.

I'm also happy for 48/24 port POE 3750's or 3560's for access switches in the pods.

The pod on the left is our data centre, this is where i am having difficulties in selecting a product, mostly because my lack of exposure to larger scale switched products. Essentially i need 2 x 10Gb uplinks to core, 2 x 10Gb downlinks to RJ45 server access switches and 4 x 10Gb links to the SAN

Would the following work? or am i better off getting a larger chassis with dual sups as opposed to 2 single sup 4500's?

2 x 4503-E with 7L-E sups with a line card (unsure which one) to provide the 10Gb connections to the SAN

2 x 3750-X 48 port 10/100/1000 with 4 1 Gb and 2 10Gb uplinks(one for interswitch 10Gb link to other 3750-X and one for uplink)

Thanks a tonne in advance for any advise you can give

Attached is the visio file as well

7 Replies 7

dominic.caron
Level 5
Level 5

In your datacenter, I think using 2 4500X  or 2 Nexus 5500(with routing module) would be better then using a 2 4500. You will get more 10G ports and gain the hability to use VSS or VPC.

Popular storage solution such as netapp recommand using multi-switch LACP to connect the storage controler to the network. Without VSS of VPC, this will be a problem.

I would also connect the two datacenter access switch to both 4500X(or 5500) and forget the link between them.