Helpful
Replies

Traffic diversion in EIGRP / OSPF

viral_cisco
Level 1
Level 1

Dear All,

I am new to routing protocols.

I need to connect 2 branches with redundant links.

My requirement is to use only one link as a active and second link in standby. Both links having same Bandwidth.

What protocol I should use, ospf or eigrp?

how much time it take for failover ?

if primary link is having some fluctions, what commands i need to use to do failover the traffic if i use ospf or eigrp.

If links having same bandwidth, then load balancing is by default enabled in case of eigrp or ospf?

Please help me out with doing this small setup.

5 Replies 5

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Okay which do you want ie you say you want one as backup and then you talk about load sharing equal cost paths.

If they are both Cisco routers you can use EIGRP and add a delay to the interfaces of the backup link on both routers so the other link is preferred. If it is just these two routers then even with the delay the backup link should be seen as a feasible successor so failover will be very quick.

Perhaps you could explain a bit more about your topology. Is it literally one network at each site connected by a single router with two links on each router ?

Jon

Hi Jon, Here is my topology... could u pls clear my concept by replying on my questions.

These are cisco routers... link bandwidth is same for both links. by default does it load balance? i need to configure active standby scenario.

image.jpg

Yes, by default it load balances across equal cost paths.

But you are using HSRP on the router so it wont see two equal cost paths anyway ie. all traffic goes to the HSRP active router so it will smply use it's own link. So you could simply match up the HSRP active on both sides so that the same link was used for traffic both ways.

If those are serial links you could also track the state of the serial link at both ends and failover if the serial link went down.