Views
Helpful
Replies

VLANs and Management VLANs

imecocisco
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

Although being relatively new to the Cisco world I have some basic experience with IOS.

We currently have two 24port 2960's patched together  using the fiber uplink ports and are acting as core switches for the  business.

One is a client core switch where all local department switches [Cisco SGs] terminate on with a few remaining ports for verious other devices

The second is the server core switch where only servers are connected to.

I've  read in a few places that you shouldnt have your switch management IP  address on the default VLAN and it should be on its own.

The question here is when I put switch IP address on a separate  VLAN and attach it to the port there is no way for me to manage the  switch as a router needs to be involved to route traffic between the two  subnets. I beleive the 2960 does not do intervlan routing.

We  have recently aquired a 3750 however that will allow us to do the above  but before we implement this I was wondering how it is normally done  without any sophisictared routing hardware? We have option 3 which is to  simply use the management port but again that would require a separate  workstation to manage it.

Can anyone educate me on the best way? Or even the correct way?

Thanks!

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Peter Paluch
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hello Ibrahim,

The question here is when I put switch IP address on a separate  VLAN  and attach it to the port there is no way for me to manage the  switch  as a router needs to be involved to route traffic between the two   subnets.