Views
Helpful
Replies

Wavelength 10G fiber speed issues - Cisco SG350XG-24T

pbnjAdmin
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,

Looking for a bit of help with a networking issue I’ve been battling with for a few months now.

I have been trying to connect 2 different sites over a Wavelength unmanaged 10G single mode fiber connection. The fiber connects on both sides to a transceiver (https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B01D45RYL0/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_search_asin_title?ie=UTF8&th=1) that is plugged into one of the SFP+ port in a Cisco SG350XG-24T.SG350XG-24T, Fiber, SFP

The connection is up and stable but the speeds we experience are no where near 10G. When using a 10G Nic on a workstation connected to a 10G ethernet port on the switch using a CAT6.a cable, I can send traffic at 10G speed from Site 1 to Site 2, but Site 2 can only send traffic to Site 1 at 60MB/s. Also, 10G devices in Site 1 can communicate on full 10G with each other and 10G devices in Site 2 can communicate on full 10G with each other. This would lead me to believe that the NICs on the workstations/servers are not the issue. It also proved to me that the ethernet ports on each switch is capable of full 10G speed.

Other things that I have tried is turning off auto-negotiate on the Wavelength SFP+ connection port but it doesn’t seem to make a difference. I have also tried using an SFP-to-ethernet converter on both sides and found that when Site 1 have a workstation plugged directly into the converter and Site 2 had the fiber plugged into the switch at Site 2, I could get 10G traffic in both directions. With the setup reversed, the converter now plugged directly into the workstation at Site 2 and the fiber plugged into the Switch at Site 1, I could only get 10G speed from Site 1 to Site 2. Site 1 seems to only accept speed of about 60MB/s when traffic flows through the switch at Site 1.