cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

When to Use CST,RSTP,PVST,PVST+,MST PROTOCOLS?

manuelricardo
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Networkes,

As an engineer I want to know form technical point of view its pros and objectives to when to use the following protocols :

• Common spanning tree(802.1d)
  • Rapid spanning tree (RSTP)
  • Per-vlan spanning tree (PVST) or PVST+
  • Multiple spanning tree (MST)

What type of design should i use each one of them , what the pros and cons and how to make the best use of it !!

and please also clear me about the cisco enhacement to CST like portfast,uplinkfast,backbonefast , when to use them and what exaclty they do in short , i still dont get it fully altough i undestand the concept , please clear me in short what are they and when best to use them.

cheers!

5 Replies 5

ninandak
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hello Manuel,

Hope you are doing good. 

As I understand from your query, you would like to know about the different STP flavors and the its enhancements

The CST or 802.1d is ON by default in all switches ( originally invented DEC or IEEE)

Pros

- There's nothing to configure and it works by itself.

Cons

- It uses a single instance for all VLANS. Hence, load-balancing is not possible.

For example: 15 switches in the network, 802.1d has only 1 instance for all 15 Switches and 1 Root bridge for all Switches.

======================

PVST

Cisco then invented PVST to divert multiple Vlan traffic across multiple links to achieve load-balancing

1 Vlan = 1 STP instance
Pros
Flexible load-balancing

Cons
- Every single Vlan needed 1 instance ( Per VLAN !!! ) Hence, CPU needs to handle as per the VLANs created. So 1000 VLANS means 1000 instances.So, we are overwhelming the CPU. 

======================

RSTP

- It's again based on traditional STP with better convergence timers and the ports remaining in ALT/BLK state.