Views
Helpful
Replies

Telepresence with VCS and VCS Expressway

ampm_25
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all,

I am looking to expand a small video pilot we have going on in which I have a few endpoints such as some EX90's and a couple of MX300's.  We also have them implemented with an MCU 5320 with a couple of licenses and a VCS.

I am looking to order a VCS Expressway with the 5 traversal call licenses, but not sure how many non-traversal calls can happen on the device when ordering the LIC-VCSE-5.

More so, when a call happens from an external device and an internal device, where are the licenses consumed from?  Is there a license used on the VCS, and two licenses used on the VCS-E (internal endpoint and external endpoint)?  I am not sure how the consumption of licenses are used on either device as I am new to the Telepresence world, but my concern is that 5 traversal call licenses will be used up right away as soon as I have 3 external callers and 2 internal callers (or similar combination of internal/external callers).

Thanks in advance for any education you can provide me on this.

Thanks,

Arras

3 Replies 3

Martin Koch
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Just to give you a feeling what traversal and non-traversal (local) calls are used for:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/telepresence/infrastructure/articles/vcs_traversal_call_license_usage_kb_168.shtml

To be honest I did not completely understood your call scenario :-)

A typical license usage for an external to internal call on a standard vcs-e&-c setup would be two:

* one traversal call license on the vcs-e (as this call goes to the traversal zone to the vcs-c)

* one traversal call license (where 100 are included in a standard vcs-c) on the vcs-c as it comes from the traversal zone

Other things to investigate could be a BE6000 for the inside (having CUCM and a VCS-C) and a vcs-e for the outside.

or just using VCS-E Starter Pack, but that all depends on what you need and how your deployments should look like.