Views
Helpful
Replies

Communication with External TFTP Server

agentjoe141
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Team,

I am a newbie in Cisco VoIP and i just came with a simple question, if you guys could help me out really appreciate it.

My Question is :

If i install an external TFTP Server(Not Cisco, simple Linux Server) in my cluster how would the Call Manager ( CUCM ) would contact the TFTP and how does the signaling would occur between them ? How would my external TFTP server would understand DBMON updates or queries sent from the Publisher?

Thanks

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Terry Cheema
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

You can have an external TFTP or Load server, but there is no dynamic update of the configs/files. It has to be manual. Hence the reason this is not used anywhere much.

The only feasible use you can have with an external TFTP server is for remote sites, specifically during firmware upgrades etc. But other than that it will be more of a hassle if it serves as TFTP in the normal routine.

You will need to update the DHCP scope to point to this TFTP server, and upload all loads/files etc onto this. After any change is made in CUCM you will have to keep updating the files.

So not a recommended option at all.

Please let me know if you have any more questions.

-Terry

Please rate all helpful posts.

View solution in original post

5 Replies 5

Terry Cheema
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

You can have an external TFTP or Load server, but there is no dynamic update of the configs/files. It has to be manual. Hence the reason this is not used anywhere much.

The only feasible use you can have with an external TFTP server is for remote sites, specifically during firmware upgrades etc. But other than that it will be more of a hassle if it serves as TFTP in the normal routine.

You will need to update the DHCP scope to point to this TFTP server, and upload all loads/files etc onto this. After any change is made in CUCM you will have to keep updating the files.