Helpful
Replies

CUBE on Development environment

nunopedrosilva
Level 1
Level 1

Hi all,

One quick question here.

I am entitled to perform tests against a CUBE, with the platform our company develops and sells.

Today I have no knowledge on CUBE but with hands-on and some examples I know I will be able to understand how it works, and what we can do with it on our customers environments (Those who actually use a CUBE).

Regarding development environments, that's what we need, since we don't have a "production" environment... Is there any way to have a development environment so that we can perform tests against CUBE?

On what terms? What I mean is, over a virtual machine, like Callmanager has that capability, or some other mean.

If it is not possible, I didn't quite understand yet the role of CUBE... Is it a specific IOS?

Is it part of a router's IOS?

Is it a single equipment?

Can I have a CUBE running in software like GNS (even if without support?)

Thanks,

Nuno Silva

3 Replies 3

jballari
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Nuno,

Cisco Unified Border Element (CUBE) is an integrated Cisco IOS application, which means it does run on IOS and you need a license to activate it. To describe it in two words: think of it as the evolution of an IP-IP gateway: a platform that can route calls from one voip dial-peer to another voip dial-peer.

If you're looking to test it and get familiar with, you can run it on a low-end router with the appropriate IOS version loaded. From that perspective, it can run as a single entity. Check this link for more info:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/sw/voicesw/ps5640/

Hope it helps.

Cheers,

Jose

Hi Jose,

Thank you very much for your answer.

Yet I still got some questions, more related to my english understanding: