Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco UCS 5108 Port Configuration

Hello All,

I am new to the Cisco UCS server world and am setting up a Cisco UCS 5108 blade server. The server has two Cisco UCS 6324 Fabric Interconnects that I have done the initial configuration on and I am attempting to configure the ports for the blades. Looking through different articles and tutorials after setting the global policies, I see everyone setting up uplink and server ports. From what I've read the uplink ports are plugged directly into the switches (I am working with two cisco nexus switches), and the server ports are used to connect to the chassis. 

I am wondering once the server ports are configured what exactly are they supposed to connect to? I assumed they would also connect to the nexus switch with the uplink ports; however, everytime I configure the server ports and plug them in, the switch seems to get flooded and we lose all connectivity. If I unplug them, connectivity is restored almost immediately. 

The current configuration I am working with is two uplink ports on each fabric interconnect (4 total, 2 into each nexus switch), two server ports on each (4 total, 2 into each nexus switch). The only other item plugged into the nexus switches is a SAN which will be configured as boot and storage for the UCS 5108. 

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Kirk J
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

It sounds like you have a UCS Mini (6324), with 4 10Gb ports (each FI/IOM) along with with 40Gb QSFP port that can provide network uplink connectivity,,, or if configured as a server port, could be used to connect to a compatible Cisco UCS rack server, or connect to one additional 5108 Chassis with 2204XP IOMs.  The blades installed in your initial 5108 chassis housing the 6324 FI/IOMs have internal connectivity to the FIs/IOMs without the need to configure 'server' ports.. 

Please take a look at some of the visuals in the datasheet below.