cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

HX Data Platform Installer Error

proudeagle622
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to Hyperflex and trying to build a 3-Node Edge Cluster with HX 220c M5 servers. 

- Nexus 9k in place of Fiber Connects

- Jumbo Frames are enabled

- There are 4 VLANs created on switch as recommended, with coordinating IP structure

- ESXi 6.7 U3 installed

- HX Installer 4.5(2b) is being used and all software updated as recommended in build guide

- DNS and NTP are installed on server outside of the cluster and operating correctly

- Can SSH into ESXi servers and left the default Cisco password

- Configured ESXi with IPv4 IP/ DNS Server/ Server name/ VLAN/ vNIC

- Configured CIMC IP

- No vCenter installed yet as it will be nested after install

- HX Data Platform installer passed "Deploy Validation"

During Deploy get the error: "Configuring CIMC server failed in Task: 'Verify Configure Server Profile Association.' with Error: 'Unknown error occurred'"

Also, after completing the Installer prompts, the JSON looks like it is missing a large amount of data but was not asked for in the GUI (ie. 2 additional VLANS)

Have tried to search for solutions but no luck so hopefully someone here can help.

1 Reply 1

RedNectar
VIP
VIP

Hi @proudeagle622 ,

There are a couple of possibilities here

First of all, when you ran the installer, did you choose to do a HyperFlex Edge install?

image.png

That error that refers to a "Server Profile Association" sounds very much like you've tried to deploy a Standard cluster

image.png

But there are a couple of other possibilities.

The trickiest one (and one I have struck in the field) is to validate that the BIOS is set up for dedicated local CIMC access rather than "single-cable" access. But IF you were able to assign an IP address to the CIMCs, then you can rest assured it is set up correctly. (See below for more detail)

So that then leads to the other possible checks