Views
Helpful
Replies

Service profile and server pool behaviour

mehrantgs
Level 1
Level 1

Hi

I am new to Cisco UCS product. we have bought a Cisco UCS 5108 with 4 blades and 2 FIs. now i am implementing it.

Cabling is finished and i have all connectivities established to storage and network.

now i am going to create a service profile and assign it to a server pool but i have got really confused in deal of it.

after i created a service profile and assigned it to manual/automatically created server pool, i saw mounted OS just installed on one physical blade and not all of them, and when i look at server association, the service profile just had been associated with one of them

now i have a question:

regardless of how i selected a server pool(Manual or automated), i expected each blade server be an option for my provided service profile (considering all blade servers have simultaneous specs) and my given iso image should be installed on all of them, but what i see there,is completely confusing.

as i said, service profile associated with a pool just shows one of blades and consumes all resource of selected pool

i dont know what will happen if that blade fails

i hope my question is clear :-|

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Kirk J
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Greetings.

Server pools are normally used for fairly large environments.

If you have just a single chassis or two, the added complexity of the server pools is probably not going to be beneficial in your environment.

Best practices would involve creating an updating service profile template, then generating a service profile from the template for each of the blades.

Blades (and UCSM managed C series servers) have a one to one relationship with service profiles.

In the event you do have hardware failure, you are still going to have to decomission the existing blade and allow the service profile to re-associate with another member of the pool.