cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Assigning buttons on a 7940/7960 with a new UC560

adam.thomas
Level 1
Level 1

I'm new to VOIP in general but I'm preparing our office for a new UC560. I have extensions and users imported. Internal dialing works but the old system had the ability to see different groups/extensions on their phones (buttons). When someone called that group ,it would ring from that line/button on the phone and that line would flash. The old system had it setup (I think it was a CME) where each user was assigned multiple shared extensions (i.e. 500 for sales, 501 for service, user A, B and C would share 500 and D,E and F would share 501) and each user would have their own extension.

Those extensions were in addition to their primary extension and shown on the phones. I can't seem to find a way to do this on the new UC560. I created a blast group but each time I add a blast group to a line/button on the user phone it says the extension is in use. Any ideas?

5 Replies 5

Steven DiStefano
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Share line buttons can be added to all the phones (2nd button or higher most usual).

How do do shared lines is documented in the TEL #25.

https://supportforums.cisco.com/docs/DOC-11748

Thanks for that information! I'm not sitting at the UC560 unfortunately...In the PDF you linked to, it has shared extensions but it's in the extension mobility section - is that the correct information I should be following?

I tried going to the button assignments and entering in the blast groups for the groups I created but the error was the extension was already in use. Do I need to change the extension for the blast groups to a shared extension?

Thanks again.

No, not EM.

Here is the way it should flow.

CCA Navigate to the first phone.

Select button 2.

CLick TYPE = Shared

Define the extension (say 250)

Save

Now navigate to the second phone you want to share that 250 extension.

Select button 2.