cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

spa3102 -- Like I'm a Third Grader (accept call, and forward out via sip)

AriDisraelly
Level 1
Level 1

Hello Friends,

Please excuse the naivete, but I'm a little new to this device.

So, first question, I want to make sure I understand the device.

Phone (or FXS port) provides a dialtone to a normal phone.

Line (or FXO aka PSTN) is meant to connect to a Telco, or PSTN.  Does that mean that it answers if it hears a ring?

And then does what?  Or what?

I want to understand...

Second...

I have a specific scenario I'm trying to make work, and need to:

1. Understand if I have the correct device, or get a different one, and

2. Get it configured to solve the problem.

Please bear with me, I will do my best to explain the situation.

Client has switched their phone provider to a cloud based voip service provider.

They have a speakerphone system at their door that had been connected to their previous phone system.

Upon investigation (good old trial and error), I have learned that the speakerphone sends a ring signal, when the button is pressed.

So, I'm guessing that should be plugged into the FXO/PSTN port.

Now I've already configured the Phone Port (FXS) so it's a hot line, take the connected phone off hook and it dials,

but I found to do that with a p0 code... and on here i've seen s0 codes...

What's the difference?

Basically, I'm guessing:

Door speakerphone into PSTN port,

but... then what?

I need it to answer the PSTN port, and dial out on the configured sip account on the "line" side.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks
A

1 Reply 1

Line (or FXO aka PSTN) is meant to connect to a Telco, or PSTN.  Does that mean that it answers if it hears a ring?

And then does what?