cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Any chance of migrating config from legacy ASA to ASA-X?

Larry Gelencser
Level 1
Level 1

Greetings Cisco Guru's!

I've been using an ASA-5510 for the past 7 years (To add it's been up 24/7/365 and problem free the entire time besides one bad Cisco software update) and it's now time to retire her. I'm currently deciding between the 5508-X & 5516-X models (If you have a suggestion I'd appreciate that too) but my question is:

Is there a way to migrate the settings from my current device onto the new one or do I simply need to build it from scratch?

My device doesn't have major configurations as I simply use it to secure and feed our office with a 20MB internet connection as well as connect about 20 remote sites with lan-to-lan vpn and support about a dozen remote users...

Thanks in advance!

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Which ASA-version are you running? I assume that it's not 8.3 or higher. Then at least ACLs and NAT have to be rewritten (and find-replace-things like interface-IDs). If the config is not that complex, I would always see that as the opportunity to start with a clean config.

For your decision 5508-X or 5516-X. Are you planning to upgrade the internet-link soon? The 5508-X will handle a 20 MBit link easily, even if you use FirePOWER for added security. If you plan for more bandwidth and you want to keep the option to use FirePOWER, then you should go for the 5516-X.

View solution in original post

With 9.1(6) running on the old ASA, all ACLs and NAT will stay the same. With that it's very likely that you can take your config in an editor, replace all Interfaces to the new names and paste that in the new ASA.

Are you running SSL-VPNs? Then you need to copy some files from old flash to the new flash.