Views
Helpful
Replies

IKEv2 vs DTSL1.2

KGrev
Level 4
Level 4

Hi,

We are testing upgrading from a very old version of Cisco Anyconnect (4.6)

To a Newer 4.10 version due to DH group limitations.

When testing the newer version, the client no longer connects as Ikev2 IPSec connection and looks to be "Anyconnect-Parent SSL-Tunnel DTLS-Tunnel.

Is there a knowledgeable person that can explain to me if this is a good expected result and if this is the path forward for the anyconnect client? Sorry I'm still learning.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions
32 Replies 32

@KGrev You have to explictly configure IPsec in the XML profile, if you do not anyconnect will connect using DTLS/TLS. So I assume you don't have a profile configured to use IPSec.

Download and install the AnyConnect Profile Editor and use the VPN Profile Editor to create the XML configuration profile and configure IPSec under the Server List. Save the profile to C:\ProgramData\Cisco\Cisco AnyConnect Secure Mobility Client\Profile

If you are upgrading to AnyConnect 4.10 from 4.6 you will be able to use DTLS1.2 (assuming your ASA version supports it), this is comparable performance to IPSec and much better performance than DTLS 1.0.

@Rob IngramThanks for the support. I assumed the profile wasn't the issue since I copied it from a 4.6 device but I will double check it. In your opinion are there any drawback from using dtls1.2 compared to ipsec?

@KGrev none, comparable performance and security. Some organisations use IPSec for compliance reasons.

If you wish to use DTLS/TLS, then tweak the ciphers to support the latest and most secure - example.

@Rob IngramWhen I look at the profile on the client it appears to be set for ipsec.

20230306_093459(1).jpg

@KGrev is all you've done is upgrade anyconnect?

I assume the ASA configuration is unchanged? and IKEv2 is enabled under the group-policy attached to the tunnel-group?

@Rob IngramYes sir, only changes were on the laptop