cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Please help troubleshoot specific ASA nat statement need, details...

Hello.
I am new to ASA OS configuration. I am troubleshooting the failing code below...

#object network VENDOR1
   #host 1.1.1.1
#object-group network VPN-Vendor-IP
   #network-object object VENDOR1
#access-list Split-Tunnel extended permit ip host 1.1.1.1 object VPN-Pool

... My goal with this code is for the erected split tunnel to include 1.1.1.1 within the tunnel, so that Anyconnect clients can communicate with the server at 1.1.1.1 . I expect I need a NAT statement.

1. What is the code of NAT statement I need?
2. Why do I need this NAT statement / What is the logic within this NAT statement?

Thank you!

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

@jmaxwellUSAF this is an example of a NAT exemption rule. Traffic between OBJECT-1 and OBJECT-2 is translated to itself, in other words the original source and original destination IP addresses are maintained.

Without this NAT rule traffic from a network within OBJECT-1 on the inside interface destined to OBJECT-2 network might be translated to the outside interface IP address if another dynamic (auto) NAT rule existed.

View solution in original post

@jmaxwellUSAF bear this in mind - "nat (inside interface, outside interface) source static ORIGINAL-SRC TRANSLATED-SRC destination static ORIGINAL-DST TRANSLATED-DST".

So no you'd never use "nat (Inside, Outside) source static OBJECT-1 OBJECT-2 destination static OBJECT-1 OBJECT-2" as that would translate OBJECT-1 as the original source to OBJECT-2 as the translated source.

The ASA doesn't allow you to configure - "nat (Inside, Outside) source static OBJECT-1 destination static OBJECT-2"

It would expect the translated source and translated destination.

View solution in original post

22 Replies 22