cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Site to Site VPN between PIX 6.3(3) and PIX 7.0(1)

snowvalley
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,

I'm trying to configure a site to site VPN between my office and a new site. This is my first time doing an actual site to site VPN, in the past we've always just used MS PPTP VPN's.

My office firewall is a PIX 506e running 6.3(3), and unfortunately this cannot be upgraded to 7.0.

My new site has a pair of PIX 525's in a failover configuration, running version 7.0(1).

The only documentation I've been able to find on this subject is this one http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/vpndevc/ps2030/products_configuration_example09186a0080094761.shtml, which corresponds to an even older version of the firewall software (though the commands seemed valid on the 6.3 software).

I ran through the VPN wizard in the ASDM on the new sites firewall, and the output produced in the firewall rules didn't really match what I expected. Commands like "ISAKMP key" have been depreciated and replaced with "tunnel-group".

What i'm really after a pointer in the right direction to some documentation that covers this sort of scenario, I can't be the only one trying to link different versions of PIX together.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

scheikhnajib
Level 1
Level 1

Hi M8,

In quick words, most of the config is still the same (Transform Sets, ISAKMP policies, Crypto Maps and Crypto ACLs).

The only thing that is changed is the:

isakmp key ***** Address x.x.x.x

and it's replaced by the tunnel-group command:

tunnel-group x.x.x.x type ipsec-l2l

tunnel-group x.x.x.x ipsec-attributes

pre-shared-key *

you will put the peer IP address as the tunnel name and as you can see, you will write down the key in the ipsec-attributes sub-mode.

I would see it straight forward and I think u will find it easy once you get used to the tunnel-group issue.

Hope that helps.

Salem.

View solution in original post