cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Tunnel Group clarification

robbo79871
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, i would like to know what exactly the tunnel groups are used for and how they're "called" in VPN's etc...

Basically, i would like to know what the actual use of them are and what would happen if they weren't configured in the VPN process. Also, how are they actually "called" in terms of what activates them? I know you set them to the "peers" address, so is it the peers address when its triggered and contacted it automatically activates the tunnel group?

Sorry i am a bit new to configuring VPN's, i have most of the concepts down now, its just certain things that I'm not getting and these are pretty much the only ones left i need to figure out.

Thanks

15 Replies 15

AllertGen
Level 3
Level 3

Hello.

Tunnel group need if you want to use a different rules for each type of users. For wxample one group can have a rules for connecting no more than 20 users at the same time, 20 minutes of idle time (before droping connection) and have access only to email server. And another group can have access to all servers, has a 60 min idle time (before droping VPN connection) and etc.

For this you can create a different tunnel group.

For identification to the group user can send a group-name/password or a certificate.

Best Regards.

Hi, thanks for the reply, this is the one concept i am having trouble understanding with VPN's, so i appreciate the help.

So the tunnel group is "triggered" or "called" when a certain user logs in using a certain username and password and then it ?

What about if its a site to site VPN and there are no usernames and passwords but still tunnel groups? What distinguishes each tunnel group then?

Hi.

Tunnel groups are the part of EzVPN technology. When you configure your VPN this way you are allways providing group-name/password or certificate with mapping data to group.