cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco Ironport C170 - Cannot access WebGUI and problems with creating reports

CP2
Level 1
Level 1

Hello folks. I have an old C170 that is out of contract and end of life. It was working fine for a few years up until this week. I received a few e-mails this morning from the C170 saying "A failure occurred while building periodic report 'Internal Users Daily Report'." SO naturally I go to login to the webGUI, but I get an error:

ERROR RESPONSE ERROR Code 500: Server got itself into trouble: The application raised an exception.

So I am only able to access the CLI. I am not a pro or even intermediate level on these devices, so can someone assist on my courses of action? I did the DISK_USAGE command, but nothing seems too out of wack there.

Services                      Disk Usage (GB)   Quota(GB)
----------------------------------------------------------
Spam Quarantine                       0.0           1.0
Reporting                             1.5           8.5
Tracking                              9.6          10.0
Total                                11.1          19.5

I did a reboot on it and it came back up fine. I can ping the device as well. I just can get to the webGUI for easier troubleshooting.

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

CP2
Level 1
Level 1

The problem has been solved by doing a system update. I was able to update the system all the was from 7.5.2 to 11.0.1. If you try to upgrade from 7.5.2 to 7.6.2 instead of 7.6.1 then you might run into problems. So try upgrading to 7.6.1 instead. Seems that in the 7.0.0 series that it didn't like to skip releases in the upgrade path. Once I was able to get to 8.x.x then I could go full iteration upgrades. Like from full 8, to full 9, to 10, to 11. Each subsequent upgrade on my network speed took about 20 minutes. The download part wasn't the lengthy part. The reboot was the lengthy part. Good luck with your upgrades!

View solution in original post

20 Replies 20

OlegB