Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

WSA, Proxies.

Hi, I'm new to WSA, Proxies. Can somebody explain me how the traffic flows across Cisco proxy, FTD and to end machines. I'm finding difficulties in troubleshooting issues in my work since the cisco proxy replaces the source ip of client machines. If you need any questions to get clearer picture, don't hesitate to ask. Thank you. Regards, Pravin Raj K
Regards,
Pravin Raj K
Network Engineer
1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

It's a service that redirects traffic to the WSA, controlled by ACL.

View solution in original post

9 Replies 9

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

You need explain more about your environment, how you have configured WSA as proxy.

1. is this WCCP

2. Explicit Proxy 

any topology of diagram which can help to guide better.

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help

1. is this WCCP - yes 2. Explicit Proxy - yes About the environment, Client machine --> Cisco proxy (PAC file) --> WCCP ACL -->Cisco FTD --> Internet
Regards,
Pravin Raj K
Network Engineer

Ok you have WCCP and Proxy explicit configured. how does that work for you ?

when you configure Explicit configure, the client request replaced by proxy by default.

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help

Hey,

Im new to cisco proxy and im unsure about WCCP and Proxy explicit even. I need to learn this quick

Regards,
Pravin Raj K
Network Engineer

>From your other email, you've got traffic redirected to the WSA 2 ways.

PAC aka explicit proxy

WCCP aka transparent redirection

Start with picking one to troubleshoot....

For PAC, request goes to WSA directly, WSA gets traffic back from website, and returns it to client.

For WCCP, firewall and WSA have a gre tunnel where the traffic gets sent to the WSA, WSA makes request and sends it back to the client.

Some common issues: