Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

WAP125 Internet connection lost to finally ... die

Hello everyone,

About 3 years ago we bought 2 WAP125 devices for around 100€/each. The configuration was generally left at default. The devices are powered by a PoE switch.

I noticed that sometimes wifi clients (laptops and smartphones) lose the Internet connection after a few minutes without losing the wifi connection. Currently the problem is systematic. I looked in the local log (debug mode), without seeing anything interesting (but I am not an expert). I also set up an rsyslog server to keep all activity. Without really knowing what to do, I wanted to try updating the firmware (1.0.4.3 -> 1.0.5.0 the latest). I connected to the WAP125, to prevent clients from connecting during the operation I deactivated the 2.4 and 5 GHz Wifi radio broadcasts and applied. Since then, no access to the device via the wired network. In desperation, I tried to reset (I have configuration backups) following the official procedure. The symptoms are not those expected (after >10s of holding the reset button, the LEDs should go out, which is not the case). For me the device is out of service and I do not know why... I just deactivated the radio broadcast. It is true that there were disconnection problems before, but to the point of breaking a device it seems amazingly relevant to me.

I am mad. I do not understand. For me Cisco was a guarantee of quality. I almost blame myself for having insisted that we take this brand. I am disappointed (I have many other reasons than this simple message of having grievances against this manufacturer). For me the hardware and especially the software are not tested enough.

Here is the information extracted from the model from the device still operational and in use :

PID VID: WAP125-E-K9-EU V0
Power Source: PoE(802.3at)
Firmware Version (Active Image): V1.0.4.3
MD5 Checksum Firmware (Active Image):
39ec34289ea5b08131eea99844d3f03a