Views
Helpful
Replies

WAP371 issues with Apple

mathiasdegroof
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I have recently installed a WAP371 access point for a customer. It's the first time I installed this model. When I tested it everything seemed fine, but the customer reports that he very often has problems connecting to the access point and he also has frequent dropouts. I replaced the WAP371 with an Apple Airport Express and the customer reports no problems with the Airport Express.

The WAP371 has the latest firmware, all settings are default except for the SSID and WPA key. It is powered by PoE. I don't know if it's relevant, but the customer uses Apple products (Macbook, iPhone, iPad...).

10 Replies 10

Eric Moyers
Level 7
Level 7

My name Eric Moyers. I am an Engineer in the Small Business Support Center.

I am sorry to hear that you are experiencing this issue. 

In the new firmware 1.2.0.2, there is an option MFP under the SSID if the unit is using "N" speed.  We have found disabling this feature has resolved quite a few disconnect issues.  

The way to set this to "Not Required" is to:
This option is located where you configure the SSIDs (so Wireless->Networks then there's a link under each SSID to "Show Details"), but it ONLY appears if you disable WPA-TKIP.

If it is set to "Capable" (the default) then the WAP will expect clients that advertise they support it to have to use it. If set to “Required” then only wireless clients that can use PMF will be allowed on this SSID. If set to “Not Required” – self-explanatory.  I would set this setting to “Not Required”  

If your customer needs TKIP enabled, just disable it first, make the change for MFP, and then set TKIP back to enabled.

If this does not improve your issue, please call our support center and open a case so that one of our engineers can work directly with you.
http://www.cisco.com/c/en/us/support/web/tsd-cisco-small-business-support-center-contacts.html

Eric Moyers