cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Can't access management interface - WLC 4402

raresz
Level 1
Level 1

Hi, I'm learning for CCNA exam on real hardware so i just started playing with WLC. I have encountered general problem which doesn't let me go forward. Maybe problem is actually i have this what i have so i have to work on this what i have
But to the point:

I have topology in shortcut like that: my Cisco ASA has role of edge router where is connected 3 vlans: (inside, outside, and dmz). For now only does matter inside vlan so there is a subnet 192.168.1.0/24. In this subnet i have laptop. In same subnet i have also router R1(.1.254) which is straight connected with SFP to WLC(i had no other choice). So on the other side of R1 where sits WLC, there is a subnet : 192.168.3.0/24
- .3.1 is R1 interface
- .3.2 is AP-manager
- .3.3 is management interface.

I have also service port connected to inside vlan(192.168.1.250)

So, what works and what doesn't:
- Service port works well full connectivity

- SFP connection works ok(so no problem with physical and datalink layer)

- AP-manager i can ping from laptop(.1.0/24 subnet) but can't access via ssh/http(maybe that's normal but that's not my case)

- Management interface(!!!!) - This i can't ping/access from my laptop but R1 can ping it so obviously port has to be in up state but no idea why can't access it from laptop - sure i'm not gonna access GUI from cisco router that everybody knows.

I tried it in both ways: with VLAN tagged and untagged. I tried to access it when it was VLAN20 and i did ROAS - ap-manager works but management interface not. Same situation when everything sits on same subnet.

There is factory default settings on WLC only with initial configuration from a prompt - nothing more(no acls and others)

I thought first that's routing issue but if i can ping .3.2 and can't .3.3 then i think that's not that.