cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco Air 3800 with ME - 3 SSID 1 access point custom help

Shank
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to Mobil express, and I have been trying to customize a SSID setup on ME today for a while without success. 

I am sure there has to be a way, but I am starting to believe I have reached the limitations of the single access point.

Mobil express software installed - 8.10.151.0

I have 1 access point - I have created 3 SSID 

Private - Public - Custom

Custom - This need to be setup to only use 2.4ghz channels 1,6,11 as well as 5ghz channels 32-48 and 149 -165

Private and Public - Will use All others channels. 

After much reading, I concluded best course of action would be make a RF profile for 2.4ghz and 5ghz  with custom channel. 

Build a access point group, then add both 2.4ghz and 5ghz RF profiles I made to the group.  This works great for just the custom group.  The 2 SSID I did not add to the group (Private - Public) are now not broadcasting because they no longer have a access point. 

I can not add the same access point to 2 different group. The first group which is the customized group with just the allowed channels, the 2nd group with the restricted channels I do not want the remaining SSIDs to use. I need all 3 channels to broadcast off this one AP.

Am I making this to complicated on myself? Is this a limitation of the Access point?  Could use some insight on what it is that I am missing.  Thank you for any help I can get.

6 Replies 6

Hi

Yeah, you are over complicating things. 

Create a RF profile for 2.4 and 5.0 is good practice but split in channel is not. 

And, RF profile make sense if you have different areas with many AP and among this areas with high density users and low density users. Otherwise, you dont need RF profile at all. 

Keep it simple. Depending on the place you are, dont mater what you do, you AP will be overwelmed with all kind of Wi-Fi signal anyway.