cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

WLC 5508 configuration advice and sanity check

skysurf76
Level 1
Level 1

I've been the unofficial IT guy at a bowling center for about 10 years now and previously I was just using cheap home wifi equipment for the WIFI.  It never worked very well so I embarked on a project to try make a "professional" setup.  I am an EE by training, and since starting the project have devoted a lot of time to learning about WLANs.  20 Years ago I was a network system admin, so I have a fairly thorough knowledge of networking (wired at least).

So here is the setup.  Three netgear gs100tp managed switches evenly spread throughout the building.  Two single mode fiber lines between all three locations going into SFP modules in the switches with RSTP configured on all the fiber ports because the fiber makes a loop.  Right now I have 3 autonomous AP's (2602i) running on the netgear gs110tp switches.  It was a stop gap measure while I worked on the larger project.

For the final plan I have 5 aironet 3602i's and 3 aironet 2602i's spaced throughout the building on ceiling mounts, and a WLC 5508 running 8.5.120. 

I've gone through the 5508 config guide, and I need some help on the VLAN/management interface configuration.  From what I have read all the AP traffic gets directed to the WLC so I won't have to worry about VLAN tagging on the AP ports on the switches, only the WLC ports and switch trunk ports to the router.  I plan on setting up an employee WLAN when setting up the 5508 on VLAN 0 (native cisco VLAN with no tagging) that will give me access to all the devices from a laptop on that WLAN.  If I make that VLAN 0 then it should be untagged and stay on the default management VLAN on the switches  Then I will setup the customer WLAN on VLAN 10 and configure the switch for VLAN 10 on the 5508 port, and do the tagging for VLAN 10 for the trunks to get it to the router.