cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Jabber vs Lync

alialjamri2008
Level 1
Level 1

I am new to Jabber, can you help me identify the differences and the advantages over the Lync.

Thanks,
Ali

17 Replies 17

In Sharepoint, you can indeed search on "people" with a keyword for expertise and come up with the right people if they've filled in their "mysite" profiles.

A more typical search is for "a document". In this case the search for expert workflow is Sharepoint -> Lync - IM/Call . So for example if I'm on my Sharepoint I search in sharepoint for a document and find a page with numerous documents listed ... lets say I open one of the documents and have an additional question. In sharepoint, I can see who uploaded the document and their presence status in MS Lync, the R-click on them to chat or call them about my question. So rather than seeing numerous people from a "directory search" on a keyword, I'm seeing the author of a specific document who is an expert on that document's content.