cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

"Unknown file format" in Network Recording Player (PC)

jachtenberg
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I'm new to WebEx and trying to do some editing on .arf recordings created by a coworker.  I have a persistent issue that we can't seem to find a solution for.  Any help would be gold.

Short summary:  I have Network Recording Player on both PC (version 2.31) and Mac (Version 29.9.2.10068).

I can open the .arf files on Mac but can't do any conversion (the option isn't available). On Network Recording Player on PC, which should be able to open and convert, I get the error: "Unknown file format.  You may update your Network Recording Player and try again."

As far as I know, the NRP on PC is the latest version.  What's going on?

I have also seen mentions of other solutions in the discussions.  Has anyone had success with any other methods?

Cheers,

Jesse

PC:  Windows 7 Enterprise, Intel Core 2 2.83 GHz Quad

Mac: OSX 10.6.8, 2x2.93 Intel Xeon Quad

21 Replies 21

Dirk-Jan Uittenbogaard
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hope that what I have seen before helps:

Q: What is the Webex site-version that you downloaded the NBR player from? (WBS28.12, WBS29? see help/about)

Q: With which Webex site-version was the recording created? (WBS28.12, WBS29?)

This message can appear if your NBR player is version WBS28.x and the recording was created with (for example) WBS29.x, which uses a different recording method.

Test: Change your NBR player to the one that 'belongs to' the site (version) used to create the recording...  Or newer. Downward compatibility should not be a problem.

I received a new .arf created with WBS29 and the the latest NBR (2.31) on webex.com won't play it.  Perhaps providing a download selection so we can work around the format incompatibilities would be a good thing.

jbouwsma1
Level 1
Level 1