Views
Helpful
Replies

Port Profiles - link speed for VMs and vMotion

ionutnica
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

I'm a bit new to this portal, but I did do some reasearch on the forums and came up empty for an answer to this question:

When you create a port profile on the 1000V how do you specify what link speed are those ports operating at?

I mean say I'd want to create a port profile for VM data and another profile for vMotion.

What is the link speed for these types of profiles?

Is there any way to set it?

Is it inherited from the uplinks?

Thanks,

Ionut

9 Replies 9

Robert Burns
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Ionut - Welcome to the forum!

The speed of the port-profiles is limited by one of three things:

- Physical Adapter speed (when transmitted inter-VEM)

- Host processor (Intra-VEM)

- QoS Policy (both)

So you wouldn't normally set a "speed" in a Port Profile, but you can allocate a QoS policy & prioritize a portion of the link's bandwidth to it.  (New in SV1.4 released just today!)

Regards,

Robert

Ok,

So when connecting a 10G vNIC from a Palo for example and then creating a port profile for vMotion vMotion will work as 10GB link?

Also when you said host processor, what is exactly is meant by that.

The vem module is like an agent running on the host, is there anything that can be done to ensure the host will not be the bottleneck?

Thanks,
Ionut

You can be limited by the unlaying NIC.  With Palo, even though you can create up to 56 x 10G vNICs, the physical bandwidth is shared/queued among all vNICs.  So yes - if the bandwidth is available, you'll run at close to line rate.

What I mean by limited by host CPU, is the VEM is a software switch.  The switching is done in software, so as fast as the host can process packets, will dictate how fast local switching will occur.