Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Automated diverts and messaging

Hi

I work in a hospital where prompt communication with the clinical team is vital.

In order to contact the person on-call, we have to go through switchboard who connects to the individual's work or personal mobile phone. There is often a delay in accessing the on-call team as one has to go through switchboard as an intermediary.

We have shown a small proof of concept where dummy extension numbers (virtual baton phone) were set up. One can then login from the web browser to divert the extension into the mobile. This would then enable people to phone a fixed (internal) extension to be diverted to whoever is on-call, for those services for which a single baton mobile is not suitable for whatever reason.

What we would like to do is automate this process so that on different days, the person is on-call number is updated daily to link to the dummy baton phone.

In addition if there was a facility to send messages via text, Microsoft teams or whatsapp etc, this would be helpful to update the on-call team regarding incidents within the hospital.

Do we have the technology to facilitate the automated linking for numbers and permit messaging to the on-call teams for that day?

Thank you

6 Replies 6

Jonathan Schulenberg
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

The only native scheduling option in CUCM Time of Day routing, but that’s not user-accessible. It’s also annoyingly rigid and creates a bunch of extra Partitions; I try to pretend that it doesn’t exist.

You’re free to create your own automation script or front end and issue AXL API queries to modify the DN CFA destination. That’s the most obvious option IMO.

As for messaging: you may want to discuss Webex Connect CPaaS with your Cisco partner and Cisco account team. It would provide the API mechanisms for SMS and WhatsApp. Again, you will need to develop the automation to invoke those APIs though.