cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco Phone 8851 bluetooth option missing

matt steger
Level 1
Level 1

So my wife's employeer gave her this VoIP phone to use while WFH, I just realized that it has a USB port which I tried to connect stuff to and nothing seems to work, not even charging. While messing around (since he employeer is a cheap MF) to find a better solution for the headset she was given, I tried to connect the USB dongle for my Jabra headset, that does not seem to do anything either. Checking online I found that this CP model seem to have a BLUETOOTH OPTION?? What? so I tried messing around with the configuration and I could not find any bluetooth configation option, or anything even related (I'm a computer engineer so I trust me that the option is just missing). 

So, here is where I hope to get help, I'm wondering if her employee IT dep has just straigh up blocked/removed some options (the phone options seem rather basic for a +$200  VoIP phone), wanted to straigh up reset it and see what happens, but I don't want to cause her any troubles, so I have a few very specific questions:
* Would it even be possible to disable bluetooth? And say wallpaper options (that option is there, but there are no walpapers to choose from for example, not that I care about the walpaper though)

* Does the CP-8851 comes wityh bluetooth by default? There is nothing else to be purchased? Could this be model without the bluetooth?
* What does the USB work with? Could that be blocked by admin too? 

* Say I collect the networking information, could I factory reset and then just add gateway, DNS, domain details and get it working? Or does it required other configuration like VPN or such? 

Any help will be VERY appreciated, the headset she is using is just a piece of cr@p...... Really need to get her something better.

PD: Attached a video with all the config options available.... 

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

@Jonathan Schulenberg