cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Handling of unallocated extensions/busy/logged out

CUCM55120
Level 1
Level 1

We have a large range of DDIs many of which are not currently in use and therefore do not exist on our CUCM. Current behaviour is listed below:

Call from external to a DDI that exists in CUCM and IS logged in to a phone but off hook - caller hears busy tone

Call from external to a DDI that exists in CUCM but IS NOT logged in to a phone or to a DDI that DOES NOT exist in CUCM - call does nothing (no busy tone no dial tone or error message from CUCM or the telco, just silence and the call does not establish IE on a mobile or digital phone the call still says it is dialling rather than connected or in progress)

I am still learning the overall topology of our system (as well as CUCM in general) and am a bit unsure how to explain this behaviour and how to change it. We have a SIP trunk and CUBE routers connecting us to the PSTN but this is still relatively new addition to our system. We are in the UK and all our DDIs are active with our telco regardless of whether they are currently assigned and existing on our CUCM.

The behaviour we want is for calls to extensions that are busy, logged out or do not exist in CUCM to at least produce a busy tone or allow us to answer and play either a CUCM system message or our own announcement (I understand custom announcements can be loaded to CUCM).

Any advice much appreciated. Thanks.

4 Replies 4

kevin.vines
Level 1
Level 1

Do you have voicemail set up at all?

What you could do is create a wildcard catchall and translate it to either:

1) the auto-attendant in the voicemail server;

2) if you don't have voicemail but still need a simple IVR to play an announcement you can translate it to a Conference Now DN with a custom announcement recording