Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Help with Configuring VoIP

Hello all,

I am a student in a networking class. We have our lab set up with OSPF and everything is interconnected (see image of topology). Since i am ahead in ENSA, my teacher tasked me with figuring out VoIP and getting it working in our lab.

We have Cisco 8861 IP phones. I have configured some things so far, but i’m not entirely sure if they are accurate/correct (see config). I am currently trying to specify the ephone type, but the 8861 is not appearing on the options. I think you are supposed to use the ephone-type global config command to create a config for it, but i am confused on how to do that.

Also, do i need a tftp server with configuration files for the ip phones? I know the dhcp option 150 is supposed to be for that, but i’m not sure if i need it or not.

As you maybe be able to tell, i’m quite lost. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

If you need any more information to assist with this, please let me know. Thanks for your help

info: the routers are 4431s, the switches are catalyst 3650(?), and the IP phones are CP-8861s

it is an airgapped network, so there is no connection to anything outside

the topology is designed around continents, countries, and cities. the countries are designated with their country code

the goal is to be able to call every "country" by dialing their country code

14 Replies 14

That model of phone is a SIP device, so ephone in CME is not applicable as that is for SCCP phones. There are great documentation on cisco.com for how to setup CME.

Response Signature

Oh, i had no idea. Am i able to set up telephony with a SIP phone? Do i need Cisco Unified Communications Manager?

Yes, you can use a SIP phones.  No, you don't need CUCM, but it would be my preference.  I'm not expecting your teacher wants you to deploy a CUCM environment, but rather Call Manager Express (CME).