Views
Helpful
Replies

LSB - Least Significant Bit - QoS DiffSrv

david.mitchell
Level 1
Level 1

Good Morning All,

First of all appologies if this is in the wrong category, but I couldn't find a QoS category

I am studying QoS for my SWITCH exam and I am having a hardtime understanding the bits used for L3 IP Precedence and DSCP markings

The texts keep referring to left most bits of the ToS Byte but the values they are stating lead me to look at the right most bits to get the values they are referring to!

Book Extract

IP Precedence markings and Differentiated Services Code Point (DSCP) markings are both Layer 3 markings. IP Precedence uses the three leftmost bits in an IPv4 header's Type of Service (ToS) byte. Like CoS, with three bits at its disposal, IP Precedence markings have values in the range of 0[nd]7.

Question 1

Are the three left most bits the red highlight or the blue hightlight?  Example, 00101011or 00101011 (So I am asking is it the left most bits in use or just the left most bits of the byte?).

Book Extract Cont..

Again, Cisco cautions us that values of 6 and 7 are reserved, so you should mark voice media with an IP Precedence value of 5. DSCP markings use the six leftmost bits of a ToS byte, giving us 64 potential values (in the range 0[nd]63). Rather than allowing haphazard value assignments, the IETF has identified and named a collection of preselected values, called per-hop behaviors (PHBs).

Question 2

How can the six leftmost bits of a ToS byte give a range of 0 - 63? Looking at a standard byte 00110011 the six left most bits would value 252 if all turned on, and the right most bits would value 64 if all turned on 00110011? Unless as asked above the six leftmost bits begin where the logical ON begins eg 00110011 in which case what would happen if the value was 00001111 as you wouldn't have six bits in play, so would the value be 15 as per the bold?

Question 3