Views
Helpful
Replies

Phone Security / Encryption Questions

Ess Emque
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all,

Sorry for the many questions, but I am confused with some of the security settings and I'm just starting to learn this. Hopefully you guys can answer some of them to get me better understand of it :) Thank you.

When I choose to make a secure device profile, I can have a few options on what to choose:

TFTP Encrypted Config:

What does enabling this option do? The doc say "When this check box is checked, Cisco Unified Communications Manager encrypts phone downloads from the TFTP server", but I don't really know what this means. Does this mean the SEPxxxx.xml gets encrypted?

Authentication Mode:

Where exactly is it used? Is it only for the very first install of the LSC? I think this is the bit that confuses me most. Here I can choose Null String, Existing Certificate etc. I can then apply the security profile to the phone, but then I have to initiate the actual install operation manually from the phone, where I can set all this stuff again. Does the stuff from this menu overwrite the information in the security profile?

For example

- If I choose "Existing Cerificate" in the security profile, but in the CAPF info, if I chose Null String, then what will happen?

- If I only assign a profile and don't configure anything under CAPF, will it still install the LSC? Or do you always need to start off the LSC install manually?

The document says 'The CAPF settings that are configured in the Phone Security Profile window interact with the CAPF parameters that are configured in the Phone Configuration window', but again, I don't understand what it means

SIP Phone Port:

When changing to encrypted, this stays at 5060. Should this be changed to 5061?

Thank you :)

3 Replies 3

Manish Gogna
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi Ess,