Views
Helpful
Replies

Problems with calls through CUSP

Sinisa Hreljac
Level 1
Level 1

Hello to everyone!

I'm very new in CUSP so I have no previous experience with it. I found some configuration examples so I configured lab with Cisco Unified SIP Proxy v9.1.8 based on that examples. 

Lab is consisting of:

Phone1 (SIP) ---> CUCM1 (v10.5) --sip trunk--> CUSP --sip trunk--> CUCM2 (v11.5) ---> Phone2

I'm not sure if this scenario is supported, but if it is, here is what is happening:

1. Phone1 calls number to reach Phone2

2. INVITE from phone is sent to CUCM1

3. INVITE from CUCM1 is sent to CUSP

4. INVITE from CUSP is sent to CUCM2

5. INVITE from CUCM2 is sent to Phone2

6. phone rings, and media stream is established between Phone1 and Phone2

So far, everything looks OK. But, when user on Phone2 wants to hang up, here is a problem:

1. BYE from Phone2 is sent to CUMC2, CUCM2 responds to Phone2 with OK

2. BYE from CUCM2 is sent to itself (loop)

3. CUCM2 responds to itself with 481 Call Leg/Transaction Does Not Exists

Now, Phone2 is in hangup state (everything looks OK to user on Phone2), but Phone1 is still in call.

When I hangup Phone1, BYE is sent from Phone1 to CUCM1, and CUCM1 forwards directly this BYE to CUCM2 (no CUSP in the middle). CUCM2 responds to CUCM1 with 481 Call Leg/Transaction Does Not Exists

I have attached call flow (Phone1 to CUCM1 is not here visible as this is from CUCM2 capture).

Please, can anyone help me with this?

Thanks,

S.

2 Replies 2

Jonathan Schulenberg
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame
Can you help us understand why CUSP is placed between the two CUCM clusters in your design? That is very unusual, especially in the era of SME and/or ILS. CUSP has more obscure use cases and isn’t typically positioned as a direct replacement of an H.323 gatekeeper.

Hi,

this configuration was just a lab for testing purposes and to understand how to properly use CUSP.