cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Do the P routers running IGP in the SP CORE need to have all the CE + Other SPs prefixes in their routing table?

superkliko
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Experts,

I'm new in the SP world, could you please help me with the following.

In a network design see below, PEs are running iBGP, the PEs and Ps is running ISIS / MPLS.

My question is, does the P routers running ISIS need to have the full prefixes of the CE/other-SPs networks like the PE or just maintain the internal SP prefixes needed as a communication base for the MPLS/MBGP.

CE1 --> PE --> P1 -> P2 -> P3 -> P4 --> PE --> CE1

Thank you

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

CE prfixes are known to only PE routers and its passed to other end PEs via iBGP (aka MP-BGP).

P routers only have IGP routes so that all PEs and Ps are accessable via each other (internal SP network rechability)

View solution in original post

5 Replies 5

CE prfixes are known to only PE routers and its passed to other end PEs via iBGP (aka MP-BGP).

P routers only have IGP routes so that all PEs and Ps are accessable via each other (internal SP network rechability)

Hi Vivek,

Thank you for the reply.

Next question is, how then the P routers forward the packets (example below, CE left side ping CE right side) if they don't know those networks and according to the routing process the destination IP never changes along the path only layer-2 address is swapped.

As far as I know MPLS is adding label only to prefixes exist in the routing table and also the LSP is build based on the RT.

CE1 ping 10.0.0.1 --> PE --> P1 -> P2 -> P3 -> P4 --> PE --> CE1 IP: 10.0.0.1

Please correct me if I'm wrong

Hi,