Views
Helpful
Replies

MPLS and AS numbers for my sites

Joshua Engels
Level 1
Level 1

Hey guys,

I am new to MPLS but some experience with BGP in a multihoming enviornment so have a little bit of understanding on BGP configuration.

That said, I am working with a provider on setting up multiple MPLS sites.  Some sites I will manage the router and some of the more remote sites we will have the ISP manage the router.  I am in the process of setting up the first site and one question is evading me.  Site A (Baton Rouge) we are managing the router.  The AS number is "65003".  The ISP's AS is "1".  I have setup Baton Rouge and it is now peered successfully to the ISP.  My question is regarding the AS number on the other end at Site B (Atlanta).  Will it have the same AS number as my BR site or will it be different?  Again, as we start to bring on other sites for my company through this ISP, will they assign different AS numbers for each site or will it be the same for each site?

The reason I ask is I am building a mock lab to try and understand how routing is going to work between sites.   

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Vignesh Rajendran Praveen
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hello Joshua,

The AS number for Site B (Atlanta) can either be 65003 or another number. But usually the ISP takes the customer's input while doing the design. Just in case the ISP uses the same AS number 65003 for site B CE then they need to use AS-Overide command on the PEs of Site A & Site B at their end towards your BGP sessions respectively. If different AS numbers are used at customer Site A & B then the ISP does not need to use the AS-Overide BGP command on their PEs for these two sites.

The purpose of the AS-Overide BGP command is to avoid routing loops.

***********Plz do rate this post if you found it helpful*************************

Thanks & Regards,

Vignesh R P

View solution in original post

Vivek Ruhil
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi