cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco ISE and WLC Timeout Best Practices

nrunge1
Level 1
Level 1

I am fairly new to ISE. Our Cisco WLC is using 802.1x and ISE is configured for PEAP with all inner methods enabled.

I am looking for some guidance around where I should be configuring timeouts. There is a PEAP Session timeout in ISE, a session timeout on the WLC and a RADIUS reauthentication timeout that can be set in the Authorization profile results object in ISE.

Currently I have the WLC configured for its default 1800 second timeout and ISE PEAP timeout at the default 7,200 value.

12 Replies 12

Venkatesh Attuluri
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

https://supportforums.cisco.com/discussion/11216441/wlc-webauth-devices-timeout-and-have-reauth

https://supportforums.cisco.com/discussion/11974106/ise-reauthentication-timer

I probably should have been more specific. We aren't using CWA. It is 802.1X with PEAP as the outer method. AD is the identity source. 

I think that I get the ISE side stuff (thanks for the links). The session timeout on the WLC is what I am most confused about.

What is the negative impact of turning off the session timeout on the WLC?

I ended up answering my own question. The authorization session timeouts should be set in ISE if at all.

Once I removed the session timeout value from the WLC and used the re-auth value in the ISE policy I had less complaints about disconnects.

The session timeout on the PEAP settings has not caused any ill affects at it's default. The session resume has taken a huge load off of AAA though. Its worth turning on.

Hi Runge,

What kind of devices are you connecting to the PEAP SSID?. Do you use Chromebooks?

thanks

I work at a college so we see pretty much everything. To the best of my knowledge not a lot of chromebooks though. We don't deploy and manage any as assets of the college. 

Let me share something else that I found after significant investigation.