Views
Helpful
Replies

ISE GUI fails to open in Chrome, "ERR_SSL_KEY_USAGE_INCOMPATIBLE"

thomashowe
Level 1
Level 1

Hello all,

I am experiencing this issue on one of my ISE PSN Servers running v3.1 patch 7. 

Cisco Bug: CSCwi63234 - ISE GUI will fail to open on Chrome with error "ERR_SSL_KEY_USAGE_INCOMPATIBLE"

The bug page says these are the work arounds:

Workaround: Use a different browser.  Resign the cert or use a different cert that includes "Digital Signature, Non-Repudiation" as the Key Usage.

Ok, using a different browser, same error.  (Used both Chrome and Edge, not permitted to use any other browsers).

What do they mean "Resign the cert or use a different cert that includes "Digital Signature, Non-Repudiation" as the Key Usage."???

I am an old school network engineer not a web guru nor a very proficient ISE administrator though I am learning fast.  Is there a solid documentation that tells me solve this or another blog with the steps outlining a solution because some poor person had to solve this on their own??

Thank you!!

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Arne Bier
VIP
VIP

Hi there

As usual, badly written bug ID that doesn't offer much hope. I logged into CCO to read the "details" but there's not much to go on. Here's what I can tell you. When you make an ISE Admin cert, the CA that creates the cert for you, must use a template (e.g. in Microsoft Windows Server Certificate Authority) that includes "Digital signature" as the Key Usage. Here is a screenshot from Windows Server CA's template that can be used for any typical "Web Server" (like ISE Admin cert)

ArneBier_0-1717880681463.png

That's been working fine for since day 1. Non-repudiation doesn't even enter into the discussion.

Questions: 

• When did your issue start? New install?
  • What does your Admin cert look like (look at the details in the browser) - what can you see in the Key Usage field?