Views
Helpful
Replies

EEM Script to Reload when BGP goes down

Jrod0809
Level 1
Level 1

Hello everyone, 

I'm new to the EEM scripts creation and I'm currently in the process of learning how to use it. I have a cellular switch IR1101 that uses EEM version 4.0. I am having issues with my routers where sometimes the cellular connection goes down and the link recovery feature on the switch tries to reboot the modem but it seems to get stuck and the modem reboot never takes place. Even if I try to reboot the modem manually, I get an error saying there is a reboot already taking place. The only solution that I've found so far is reloading the switch. With all this being said, I created the following script that waits for 15 minutes after BGP goes down and then calls another script that will actually reload the switch. I also have a third script that cancels the switch reload if BGP comes back up. Let me paste the scripts so that I can explain you better what's happening and maybe I could get some guidance for the solution. The script is the following: 

--------------The script belows waits for 15 minutes after BGP goes down and then triggers the bgp-wait-15-minutes applets.------------ 

event manager applet bgp-neighbor-monitor authorization bypass
description Monitor BGP Neighbor Status
event syslog pattern "BGP-5-ADJCHANGE: neighbor.*Down" maxrun 1800
trigger delay 900
action 1.0 cli command "enable"
action 2.0 syslog msg "BGP is down. Initiating a 15 minutes reload timer"
action 3.0 cli command "event manager run bgp-wait-15-minutes"

---------------The applet below actually reloads the switch-------------------------

event manager applet bgp-wait-15-minutes
event none maxrun 1800
description Wait for 15 minutes after BGP goes down
action 1.0 syslog msg "15-minutes timer complete. Reloading device"
action 2.0 reload
action 3.0 cli command "end"