cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

How to close port 22 / SSH on external interface

Rastan84
Level 1
Level 1

Hello. If I check my static external IP address on https://www.yougetsignal.com/tools/open-ports/

It says that port 22 is open on it. 

ISP is plugged to my Cisco 2901. 

How do I make sure the port 22 (SSH) is not open to public? 

I tried following suggestions I found on other discussions here but couldn't succeed. I'm not an expert at all here. 

Could someone please assist? 

16 Replies 16

you can under VTY config transport telnet 
this will make your R never answer request for SSH/port 22 

Would you have the commands how to do it?...

Do you mean it will answer to telnet instead? 

Rastan84
Level 1
Level 1

@MHM Cisco World 

I have this running: 

line vty 0 40

transport input none 

But I guess it's wrong coz it didn't help. 

why ?  Now with this anyone never can access your R with SSH/22 port 
never.

My suggestion was outside interface, users can still can access from inside right ? (or am i overthinking ?) - Friday hangover ?

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help

I never try but the ACL can not stop traffic direct to interface it stop traffic pass through interface. 
this what I know. 

Configure SSH on Routers and Switches - Cisco
if he want to use SSH he can use then access-class instead of ACL to permit or deny some user.

I run lab and test @balaji.bandi suggestion 
and it work not issue 
you can use ACL to deny SSH port 22 to access from interface connect to ISP
thanks 
MHM 

Screenshot (398).png

I use transport input none 
and without using ACL I can not telnet anymore to Router
so I prefer transport input than ACL. 
thanks 
MHM

Screenshot (399).pngScreenshot (400).png

Screenshot (401).png

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

How do I make sure the port 22 (SSH) is not open to public? 

Then you can create ACL and add to external interface.