Views
Helpful
Replies

How to Determine IOS Upgrade

Hershey1702
Level 1
Level 1

Hello All,

I am very new to all this and I am hoping someone can give me hints or tips on how to search for an IOS upgrade. We have very old equipment at my site and it seems like they are all on different IOS's. Some are on "lanbase" while others are on "universal", some show ".bin" while some have no file extensions, or ".tar"s which I guess are packages you have to unpack. The are different version numbers as well.

Also, are the IOS specific to port number as well, meaning do I need to look for different IOS's based on how many ports the switch has besides both devices being 2690?

I have been able to transfer an IOS and set the boot system to boot from the newer one, but now I am getting this upon booting:

control-plane
^
% Invalid input detected at '^' marker.
¦ŸÿÌÎNNOÌÞ[_ ŽMO›ÎÌÎ>GÌ ;ÛÚ..Ìø·ÿÎmÌ_Îo/¯M

On this switch I went from c2960-lanbase-mz.122-35.SE5 to 2960-lanbasek9-mz.122-55.SE12.bin. I am assuming I chose the wrong update and will revert to see what that does.

My switches are from the 2960 series.

1. When do I use universal vs. lanbase, or others?

2. What do I need to know about or consider when searching for IOS updates? Do things like port number matter and do I need to know more info about the model than what is listed on the front-top-right "Catalyst 2960 Series"?

3. How do I determine the latest IOS release for the switch I am working on?

4. Is there anything else I may need to consider?

3 Replies 3

balaji.bandi
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

2960-lanbasek9-mz.122-55.SE12.bin  - this should work.

BB

***** Rate All Helpful Responses *****

How to Ask The Cisco Community for Help

Hi,

what is the exact switch model you are using? you can use

#show version

command to get exact model, OS version, serial etc.

below is the LANBASE datasheet. check if your switch model is already in the switch models.