Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

LMS 4.1 Housekeeping

Hello all,

My job descritpion is network administrator/engineer. But for years I have been in charge of CW and now LMS 4.1. Since I am not a system engineer in profession, it has always been difficult for me to understand how to keep databases and log files in order and how to troubleshoot system related stuff, without causing any problems.

I mean that besides setting jobs (device discovery, netconfig, usertracking, archiving and the like), what else do I need to check on a regularly basis, which jobs can I delete with safety, what kind o log rotation should I configure???

For example, I have noticed that the ConfigMgmtServer.log is quite large (1,2 Gbytes). Is it safe to rotate this???

Is there any guide as to what maintenance jobs should be performed???

Thank you in advance,

Katerina

10 Replies 10

Duong Nguyen
Level 1
Level 1

Basically if you find any logs that are huge size under CiscoPrime\log folder, you can do logrotate them.

Some files to watchout are syslog.log jrm.log which generally get big in size

Great! Thanks for the info...

I am already doing logrot on syslog.log. The ConfigMgmtServer.log is getting quite large. At the moment it is about 1,3Gbyte. I will also rotate this.

Kind Regards,

Katerina

Ok!

I seem to be getting mixed up!

My ConfigMgmtServer.log is 1198699KB large. That is approximately 1.14 Gbytes. So, I configured log ration for ConfigMgmtServer.log with these values:

size:      10240Kb (way smaller than the actual log size)

format:   gz

No of backups: 2

The thing is that I don't see any change to the ConfigMgmtServer.log. I would have excpected that zipped backups would have automatically been made and that the ConfigMgmtServer.log size would have become smaller.

Nothing like that happened!