cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Remote DHCP issues

Brett S
Level 1
Level 1

Greetings all. Upfront, I'm a beginner at best with a homelab, so you know where my skillset is at. I've been around networks for a while, just never worked on them beyond the off the shelf stuff. I started to take my CCNA a few years ago, passed the first test, but never went back (life, work, family, etc). So I'm not unfamiliar with them, and I think I understand fundamentals (maybe).

The issue I'm having right now is trying to get IP leases from remote DHCP's.

My equipment

MikroTik RB4011 router (where I want the DHCP servers)

Cisco 3560X 48 PoE+ w/ the 10Gig module

A Unifi AP AC Pro

Dell R630 running some VM's

The SFP+ port on the MikrotTik and 3560X are in a routed, no switchport, non-trunk mode

I had originally thought my issue was on the RB4011. The Cisco is setup to do Inner VLan routing, and it's doing it perfectly (a network buddy of mine helped me set it all up, teaching me a few things along the way). The RB's only job is to connect ether 1 to my modem/internet and the SFP+ to one of the 10G uplinks on the switch. Works great. We did not do RoaS as I wanted the switch to do all the heavy lifting for inner routing, leaving the router to worry about firewall, passing traffic to the internet, and DHCP services for the VLans. Everything in my house is connected to the 3560X. With the exception of a couple items, we currently have everything in VLan 1 just to keep it simple until I get the DHCP issue sorted. My gear (eg; the Dell R630, the AP, my desktop) are all in another VLan (150) and all working perfectly.

VLan 1 and 150 are using the Cisco as their DHCP. VLan 165 is my "test bed", a laptop. I will end up with 5 VLans when all is done.